Adaptive Reuse, Residential
Originally constructed in 1885 and designed by the architect William C. Whitney, the Smyth Lofts building is part of the Saint Anthony Falls Historic District--the location of Minneapolis’ earliest mills and the waterfall that powered them. We redesigned this 60k square foot iconic neighborhood structure as a mixed-use building with three floors of spacious urban apartments over four ground level retail establishments. The primary shell work to replace historic street side windows and adding windows along the previously blank western wall was done in coordination with the Minnesota State Historic Preservation Office and the National Park Service in the interest of procuring state and federal tax credits.
Pretty on the INside
The original structure featured thick Douglas fir joists unseen in the construction world for a hundred years, gorgeous arched-brick openings in the interior bearing walls, and massive round columns with mushroom capitals. It had great bones throughout. New systems were designed and coordinated to mesh with the existing building.
Upper floors now offer beautiful residential apartments in this very desirable downtown neighborhood.
CONSERVING HISTORY IN THE MODERN WORLD
RoehrSchmitt worked closely with the development teams historic consultant Hess Roise to determine what changes could and could not be made to the building. The best possible outcome was a completely modernized building that maintained the character of the original structure, while updating it for another hundred years of productive use.